The FASEB Lysophospholipid and Related Mediators Conference, held online on July 13 – 15, 2021, has been concluded successfully. The SLC contributed to this success by sponsoring two awards (300 $ each) for young trainees, presenting their work on sphingosine-1-phosphate, its receptors and related enzymes.

The selection of the winners has been done by Julie Saba, Markus Graeler (SLC Scientific Board members) and Sarah Spiegel (SLC Honorary member) and the winners names have been communicated during the Conference.

The recipients of the awards are:

Yuliya Fakhr, from the University of Alberta, Canada, for the poster award, presenting “Sphingosine-1-phosphate system mediates inflammatory cytokine response in placental syncytial function“.

Bisera Stepanovska Tanturovska, from the University of Bern, Switzerland, for the short talk award, presenting “Loss of sphingosine kinase 2 enhances Wilm’s tumor suppressor gene 1 and nephrin expression in podocytes and protects from streptozotocin-induced podocytopathy and albuminuria in mice“.

Both Yuliya and Bisera will receive soon an award certificate. The Sphingolipid Club congratulates with both of them and wishes that these two young trainees will join to our community.


Lina Obeid Awards

JOHANNES MORSTEIN  (1000 €), New York University, USA.
SHAH ALAM (1000 €), University of Bonn, Germany.

 Shimon Gatt Awards

(two supported by the Sphingolipid Club, one supported by Myles Cabot Laboratory):

VALENTINA VOZELLA  (1000 €), University of California Irvine, USA
LIUBOV KALINICHENKO (1000 €), Friedrich-Alexander-University Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany.
MICHAEL PULKOSKI (1000 €), Stanford University, USA

Participation to the 2019 FASEB SRC “The Lysophospholipid and Related Mediators”, Lisbon, Portugal, July 28-August 2, 2019

HIRA NIAZI (best short talk, 500 €), INSERM U970, Paris, France
VALENTINE YOLANDER (best poster, 300 €), Virginia Commonwealth University, USA